An end to cricket romance. Yes, it was the final played between India and Sri Lanka. Sri Lanka won against West Indies in semifinals and India won against South Africa to reach into finals. But, this final led to India’s first loss in the tournament and Sri Lanka became the ICC World T20 champion for first time. Let’s have a look:


Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to bowl first.


India: MS Dhoni (Captain & Wicket-Keeper), RG Sharma, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, R Ashwin, R Jadeja, Amit Mishra, B Kumar, M Sharma

Sri Lanka: L Malinga (Captain), K Parera, T Dilshan, M Jayawardane, K Sangakkara (Wicket-Keeper), Lahiru Thirimane, Angelo Mathews, Thisara Parera, Nuwan  Kulasekara, Sachitra Senanayake, Rangana Herath

India vs Sri Lanka T20 World Cup Final Match Summary, Sri Lanka Won T20 World Cup 2014, Who won T20 World Cup 2014, India lost T20 World Cup 2014 Final Match


India:  130/4 in 20 overs.

Sri Lanka: 134/4 in 17.5 overs.

Results: Sri Lanka won by 6 wickets.

Man of the Match

K Sangakkara: 52 (35 balls, 6×4, 1×6)

Man of the Series

V Kohli:  319 runs

Summary of the Match

Sri Lankan captain L Malinga decided to bowl first and decision was not wrong. Opener Ajinkya Rahane could score only 3 runs and was bowled out by Angelo Mathews in 2nd over. After that Virat Kohli came to the crease to company Rohit Sharma. They both added a fifty partnership, which was broken by Rangana Herath when Rohit Sharma was caught by Senanayake after scoring 29 runs in 26 balls. After him, Yuvraj Singh came to join Virat Kohli, who was again looking great with his form. He completed his half century in 43 balls. Yuvraj Singh failed once again and could score only 11 runs in 21 balls. Virat Kohli got run out on last innings of the ball after playing a wonderful inning of 77 runs in 58 balls. India’s total was 130/4 after 20 overs.

Sri Lankan team also could not start well and opener K Parera was caught at 5 runs in 7 balls. After that M Jayawardhane joined T Dilshan. After a partnership of 36 runs, Dilshan was caught by Kohli on the bowling of Ashwin after scoring 18 runs in 16 balls. K Sangakara joined Jayawardane now. Jayawardane was caught at the bowling of Suresh Raina after scoring 24 runs in 24 balls. Thirimane also scored only 7 runs in 11 balls and caught behind on the ball of A Mishra, when Sri Lanka’s score became 78/4. After that Sanga and T Parera made their way to the historical win. Parera scored 23 runs in 14 balls with the help of 3 sixers. Sangakara remained not out on 52, for which he was awarded Man of the Match award in his last T20I.

Interesting Fact

  • Kohli has hit 4 fifties in 6 matches in this world cup.
  • It was last T20I of two Sri Lankan senior players: K Sangakarra and M jayawardane.

Your Views and Predictions

What was the basic reason of India’s lose in final? Indian team scored less than the expectations.  Was it Yuvraj Singh’s slow batting? Or poor bowling performance of Indians? What do you think about this match? Which team were you supporting? Share your views about this great finale in the comments